German Community Warfare

Die Battletech Convention

Who are we and what is the GCW?

Over the years, the foundations were laid for a cooperative partnership between the two large German BATTLETECH associations TT and MFG. More and more joint activities were coordinated, inter-club chapter fights were made possible and meetings were held at the various conventions in Germany. So it was obvious to celebrate this successful cooperation with a joint convention for the entire community, whose main focus is playing Battletech. The first event of this kind took place in May 2019. Surprisingly, the European Catalyst agents offered to host the EBTC (European Battletech Championship) there, which we felt was a great appreciation of our community work over the past years.

After the very successful con, at which everyone really enjoyed themselves and at which there was a good atmosphere throughout, we felt motivated by the many positive reactions from the community to organise this con again in 2020, or annually in May in the future. Furthermore, the GCW is to be the "home con" of the DBTM (German Battletech Championship) from now on. So far, we have received many offers of help from all areas of the Battletech community, which we are really happy about. Because of the great interest, we plan to establish this event as a fixed part of the con landscape in our country in the future. Because one thing became quite clear, a pure Battletech-Con is unfortunately far too rare in our country, which we would like to change permanently.

This event is aimed at all Battletech players: clubs, free chapters, solo players, veterans, newcomers, etc. - everyone is welcome!!! The aim is to offer a colourful programme with something for everyone. Battletech-specific traders will be on site, as well as demo rounds to start afresh or get back into the game. There will also be a flea market and workshops for crafting or painting miniatures.  Just to give you an idea of what will be going on. If you like what you have just read, we would be pleased to receive your registration for the con on this page. If you have any questions or suggestions, you can contact us directly here: gcw@battletechcon.de

Have fun,
Your GCW-Orga

German Community Warfare

Die Battletech Convention

Wer sind wir eigentlich und was ist die GCW?

Über Jahre wurde für eine partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit der beiden großen deutschen BATTLETECH-Vereine TT und MFG der Grundstein gelegt. Mehr und mehr koordinierte man gemeinsame Aktionen, ermöglichte vereinsübergreifende ChapterFights und traf sich auf den verschiedenen Conventions in Deutschland. Es lag also nahe, diese gelungene Kooperation mit einer gemeinsamen Con für die gesamte Community, deren Schwerpunkt das Spielen von Battletech ist, zu feiern. Die erste Veranstaltung dieser Art fand im Mai 2019 statt. Überraschend kam dann auch noch das Angebot der europäischen Catalyst-Agents, dort die EBTC (European Battletech Championship) auszurichten, was wir als große Wertschätzung unserer Communityarbeit der letzten Jahre empfanden.

Nach der sehr gelungenen Con, bei der sich wirklich alle wohlgefühlt haben und bei der durchweg gute Stimmung herrschte, fühlten wir uns durch die vielen positiven Reaktionen aus der Community motiviert, diese Con auch 2020, bzw. zukünftig jährlich im Mai auszurichten. Darüber hinaus soll die GCW fortan die „Heimat-Con“ der DBTM (Deutsche Battletech Meisterschaft) sein. Es kommen bis heute viele Hilfsangebote aus allen Bereichen der Battletech-Community, worüber wir uns wirklich sehr freuen. Wegen des großen Interesses planen wir auch zukünftig, diese Veranstaltung als festen Bestandteil der Conlandschaft unseres Landes zu etablieren. Denn eines wurde recht deutlich, eine reine Battletech-Con gibt es leider viel zu selten in unserem Land, was wir gerne dauerhaft ändern möchten.

Diese Veranstaltung richtet sich an alle Battletech-Spieler: Vereine, Freie Chapter, Solospieler, Veteranen, Neueinsteiger, usw. – jeder ist herzlich willkommen!! Es wird angestrebt, ein buntes Programm zu bieten, bei dem für jeden etwas dabei ist. Battletechspezifische Händler werden vor Ort sein, ebenso werden Demorunden angeboten, um neu zu starten oder zurück ins Spiel zu finden. Auch wird es wieder einen Flohmarkt und Workshops geben, zum Basteln oder Bemalen von Miniaturen.  Nur um mal einen kleinen Abriss zu geben, was so stattfinden wird. Wenn Dir gefällt, was Du gerade gelesen hast, würden wir uns über Deine Anmeldung zum Con auf dieser Seite freuen. Falls Du noch Fragen oder Anregungen hast, kannst Du hier direkt mit uns in Kontakt treten:  gcw@battletechcon.de

Have fun,
Deine GCW-Orga